“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”

I’m super excited about this. Not only is this a wonderful piece of writing and the beginning of a blog definitely worth following, the author happens to be one of my nearest and dearest friends. But I promise I’m not just promoting her because I’m biased. Her writing, work, and ideas are awesome and will speak for itself. So please join me in welcoming Emily C. to the wonderful world of WordPress!

Halcyon Days

My 8th graders right now are very fond of the expression, “YOLO.”  Of course, sometimes they are tempted to use it more an excuse to do whatever they feel like, with no thought of the consequences.  They are missing the second half of this Mae West quote, which tells us that it is how we live our life that really matters.

When I was younger, I was often afraid of trying new things.  I preferred to eat foods that I knew I liked, play games that I knew I was good at, and answer the questions to which I was sure I knew the answers.  It wasn’t really until college that I became more adventurous, and I attribute that growth largely to my group of loud, opinionated, charismatic “theatre” friends- one of whom was my husband.  And he continues to challenge me to try new things- only now, I enjoy the challenge. …

View original post 287 more words

One thought on ““You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”

Leave a Reply

