Finally!!! (a life update worthy of a three exclamation points)

This is the post that I’ve been waiting to write.  I was afraid to even begin typing it before all the official i’s had been dotted and t’s crossed, but a few days ago I signed a piece of paper and was handed a building key, so I can now make the official announcement.

I’m going to be a teacher again.  A real teacher, with my own students and lesson plans in my content area and mounds of papers to grade.  I’m going to be standing in front of a classes that I’ll actually be able to get to know and watch progress.  I’m going to be frustrated by students who don’t listen, excited by students who “get” it, and amused by the antics of teens of all types.

At least, I’ll get to do all that for a semester.  We have to wait and see what happens after that.  Still, I’m pretty darn excited.

The job is at a small, Christian high school.  I had interviewed with them last spring, but I didn’t get the job then.  However, when the principal found out he’d be losing another English teacher in the middle of the year, he reached out to me and invited me to come interview for the new opening.  I’ll be on a long-term sub basis through the end of this school year, with the potential of being offered a full-time, salaried job beginning next fall.

The one major drawback is that I’m going to have an hour and fifteen minute commute each way.  I’m not so excited about that, but I’m willing to do what it takes to get out of subbing and back into teaching.  It’ll just be for a semester, anyway.  If things work out well for next fall, we can move closer to cut down on my commute.

So while I’ve still been subbing, I’ve also been meeting with the teacher I’ll be replacing, going over curriculum and reviewing content.  I will be teaching English 10, supervising a group of seniors who are taking a college-level writing course online, and monitoring study halls.  Overall, it’s a good schedule.

David Tennant used the skull of pianist Andre ...

David Tennant as Hamlet.  Now I have an excuse to buy this DVD.  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m especially excited about the English 10’s.  Part of their curriculum is a Career Research Project that spans the course of the semester and ends in a big research paper.  It fits so well with where my passion and interests lie as a teacher!  It’s usually hard to make teaching a research paper fun, but I think I’m really going to have a good time with this.  Hopefully I can pass on some of my enthusiasm to my students.  And my English-nerd side is excited about teaching them Hamlet.  I’m sure in a few months I’ll be groaning about the amount of work I have to do, but right now I’m enjoying the excitement.

I don’t really know what this will mean for my blog.  I haven’t had a regular, full-time teaching job since I started blogging a year and half ago (except the three months I spent in third grade, but I don’t count that).  I haven’t had to balance blogging with lesson planning and grading, so I may find myself with less free time to spend online.  On the flip-side, I’ll probably have more to say and more to blog about, so maybe this will once again the much-needed outlet for my ideas.  We’ll see how it goes.

For now, thank you for sticking with me through this journey.  Thank you for helping me survive a year and a half of nomadic living and substitute teaching.  Thank you for reading, commenting, and encouraging me.  Thank you for believing in me even when I had little to show for my career beyond this blog.

Time for the next phase of my journey to begin!

6 thoughts on “Finally!!! (a life update worthy of a three exclamation points)

  1. Congratulations! I’ve been thinking of you, confident that you’d find your students. Yes, buy that Hamlet DVD–celebrate! Hope you keep writing–it’s tricky when you’re teaching full time, but I’d miss your weekly posts; I truly appreciate your insight on teaching and working with students.

    Like

  2. I’m so excited for you! What an answer to prayer! We definitely need to schedule our phone date to catch up.
    Hamlet!!!! One of my personal faves. “I could be bound in a nutshell…”

    Like

Leave a Reply

