I’ve been discovered.

It happened. My students found me.  Even without the handful of conversations that tipped me off, I could tell by the sudden increase in blog traffic in the last few days.  On normal “good” days, I range somewhere between 40 to 120 hits to my blog.  Yesterday I received 450 hits. My internet presence has been discovered.

So excuse me for a minute while I speak directly to the crazy, exhausting, entertaining bunch of kids that have filled my days for the last five months.

Hi!

You found me. It was only a matter of time. So, what do you think? Be nice – I haven’t issued final grades yet. 😛 Seriously, though, this is a more personal glimpse of my life than I give you in the classroom, so keep that in mind as you read. You see me as a teacher, and when I teach, it isn’t about me. It’s about you and your skills, needs, and growth. That’s my focus when I’m in the classroom with you. It always will be. But here I can be a little more vulnerable, a little more honest, a little more introspective. I’ve poured myself into this piece of the internet. I’m not asking you to like it. I’m not asking you to care. I’m just asking you to respect what it means to me.

I never intended for my blog to be “secret.” Hundreds of complete strangers read these words every week, so clearly nothing on here is secret. I just didn’t ever see a reason to bring it up in class.  Now that you’re here, welcome!

Oh, and remember all those discussions we’ve had about formal writing?  This isn’t formal writing.  This is informal.  So I can get away with contractions and starting my sentences with conjunctions here.  I break standard grammar rules a lot while I blog, actually.  That doesn’t make it OK for you to write this way on a research paper.  (Before you ask, no, I’m not done grading those yet, but I’m working on it.)

So feel free to browse around and enjoy.  Or don’t.  It’s up to you.

See you in class!

9 thoughts on “I’ve been discovered.

  1. Hopefully they realize that they are losing a great teacher. Maybe it will lead to a new position for you when they protest in mass to the administration.

    Like

  2. Wait! No! When you’re on the internet, you’re OUR teacher! They can’t have you here, too! *Insane amounts of irrational, territorial teenage jealousy* 😉

    I have always wondered when/if they would find you and what the reaction would be. Personally, if I found the blog of one of my (extracurricular, since I’m homeschooled) teachers, I would probably go through and read every single post ever posted, partly because I’m nosy and partly because of insecurity. “Oh, no- I hope that time I did that one thing didn’t make it on here.”

    Like

    • Haha! Aw, thanks! 😛 So far their reactions have been positive, though we haven’t had any extensive conversations about it yet. And my internet “class” will always have a special place in my heart. Don’t worry.

      Like

    • I was always pretty careful about what I posted, just in case. I wouldn’t post anything here that I wouldn’t want my students to know. But I also blogged for a year and a half without any students of my own to discover me, so for a long time it wasn’t an issue.

      Like

  3. hahahahaha! it was only a matter of time…. pure gold! I can just imagine what your classroom is like now! but this would have been good for them too, to prove that you are still human, even though they may get the seeing-your-teacher-outside-of-school feeling.

    Like

  4. I love how you ended this with telling them how this is not “formal writing.” That was adorable and a good lesson. Teens, especially those taking English classes seriously, should know the difference between formal and informal writing and have such a wonderful soul for at teacher to remind them. I really enjoyed this post. 🙂 Congrats on being discovered!

    Like

Leave a Reply

