Disconnection and Car Trouble

I don’t have internet in my new apartment yet, and I’m one of those hold-outs who doesn’t yet own a smart-phone.  As such, my internet access is few and far-between.  I snag some time at the library when I can (but their internet is pretty slow), and right now I’m sitting in the Cafe area of the hospital where my husband works.  When I do get online, it’s usually to look up “necessary” things, such as insurance agents and auto mechanics.  I’ll check my e-mail and glance through Facebook a little, too.  If I have a little extra time, I’ll read a blog post or two, but I haven’t spent a ton of time on the blogosphere, or in the world of social media in general, actually.

Yeah, sometimes it’s inconvenient.  When I want to shoot off an e-mail to someone, I can’t just pull out my laptop and send it off.  I have to plan out how and when I’ll make it happen.  We don’t have a TV, either, and I haven’t made a habit of listening to the radio, so I’m woefully behind on the news, and I never know what the weather is going to be like.  I got caught out running errands in a horrible rain storm a week ago because I had no idea it was coming.  It wouldn’t have been a problem, except I was driving the car with unreliable windshield wipers (more on that later).  Oh well.

Honestly, though, I haven’t really minded the freedom from the internet.  I’ve put several audiobooks on my iPod, and I listen to them while I unpack and organize the apartment.  I take the dog for longer walks, exploring the new neighborhood.  I visit the important places in our small town, too.  It doesn’t take long, since the town boasts a population of less than 3,000, but it’s nice.  Being home all day while Dan’s at work, it would be easy for me to spend all day watching Hulu and reading blog posts.  The forced disconnect is probably healthy for me.

Dan and I do plan on getting internet in our new place.  But last time we got a new apartment, we immediately signed up for internet, and then within the next few weeks we received several ads for deals and offers on internet service (such as a $100 gift card) that we could no longer use, since we’d already set up our service.  So this time we’re waiting a little while to see what kind of offers we can take advantage of before we commit.  It’ll probably happen soon.  We’ve gotten at least two adds in the mail, so now we just need to compare and pick.

The lack of internet did become a little challenging this past week when my car died, though.  I was within sight of my apartment, but I couldn’t get the car there.  After pushing it to the side of the road (with the help of the police), I had the challenge of figuring out what to do.  I’m new in town – I didn’t have the number for a mechanic, much less a tow truck.  Our insurance offers tow reimbursement, but we still have to find the tow truck ourselves.  I called my husband, and fortunately, I could walk home from where I was.  Dan talked to people in his office and connected me with a mechanic, so it worked out, but if I couldn’t get a hold of him, I don’t know what I would have done.

And, in case you’re wondering, the car is officially dead.  We’ve had that vehicle, a 2002 Chevy Cavalier, since we got married, and time and travel have taken their toll.  We were considering replacing it soon anyway, so when the mechanic (as nicely as he could) told us it would cost more to fix than the car was worth, we figured the time had come.  Our other car is a 1995 Buick with 35,000 miles on it (purchased with the $1000 insurance payout from a major fender-bender in the Chevy.  We kept the cosmetic damage and the spent the money on a second car).  The windshield wipers are unreliable, the windows don’t roll back up, the air conditioning is broken, and we’re hesitant to drive it on the highway… and that’s the car we’re keeping.  We drove the Buick down to visit the in-laws for the weekend and visited a dealer near their place.  We came away with a good deal on a certified preowned all-wheel-drive vehicle, a must for the small-town Wisconsin winters.

So I’m going to end this post with a list of all the luxuries Dan and I are enjoying in our new car, as compared to our previous cars:

  • Windows that work (a problem in both of our previous cars)
  • Air conditioning that works
  • Windshield wipers that work
  • No trouble on the highway
  • No missing hubcaps
  • A significant lack of cosmetic damage
  • No hole in the tail pipe making it run so loud it wakes the neighbors
  • No trouble starting it when it rains
  • No concerns about the engine randomly overheating in bad traffic

Yeah… It’s the little things that make us happy.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Disconnection and Car Trouble

  1. I remember when we started out. It was a Chevy Camaro 1969 with the top down and red. My future wife bought it and I picked up the payments. I think that is why she married me. I know that is why I married her.

    Like

    • My husband bought an older 4 door Mercedes sedan for $1000. He is a good mechanic so he knew he could fix it. At some point it had to be push started. I refused. He later showed me how to take a wrench and bang on this piece of metal under the hood in this one spot, and it would start. Not my favorite thing to do at the upscale grocery store on upscale Cape Cod. Now we are in Germany driving a 1996 VW Golf. Ricardo gets us where we want to go even though all of his windows don’t work. Someday we’ll have a shiny new car.

      What are your plans for the year? Any jobs where you moved to?

      Like

      • I am sixty eight and live in winter haven, florida. Down the road less than a mile is Legoland where I have a part time job operating rides. It is not much of a brainer but I make extra money and get a work out. And children or grandchildren? Let me know.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha! We had to pour a bottle of Heet into our car to get it to start every time it rained. You should have seen the looks the guys at the autoparts store gave me when I purchased multiple bottles in the middle of July.

        I don’t have any specific plans this year, just subbing. I applied to a few teaching jobs, but no one ever contacted me for an interview. Oh well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

